Dr. James K. Galbraith

"The Predator State and the Poisoned Chalice:   America under Trump, Europe under Schäuble" 
There will be a Monday evening dinner (6:00pm) and keynote address by Dr. James K. Galbraith at the Isla Grand Hotel.
The  dinner and keynote address is included in the registration fee.

     Dr. James K. Galbraith holds the Lloyd M. Bentsen Jr. Chair in Government/Business Relations at the Lyndon B. Johnson School of Public  
     Affairs and a professorship in Government at The University of Texas at Austin. He chaired the board of Economists for Peace and Security
     from 1996 to 2016 (www.epsusa.org) and directs the University of Texas Inequality Projec (http://utip.lbj.utexas.edu). He was Executive
     Director of the Joint Economic Committee of the United States Congress in the early 1980s . From 1993 to 1997, he served as chief
     technical adviser to China's State Planning Commission for macroeconomic reform, and in the first half of 2015 he served as an informal
     counselor to Yanis Varoufakis, the Greek Minister of Finance. In 2016 he advised the presidential campaign of Senator Bernie Sanders.
     Galbraith's books include:

     Welcome to the Poisoned Chalice: The Destruction of Greece and the Future of Europe (2016)
      Inequality: What Everyone Needs to Know (2016)
      The End of Normal: The Great Crisis and the Future of Growth (2014)
      Inequality and Instability: A Study of the World Economy Just Before the Great Crisis (2012)
      The Predator State: How Conservatives Abandoned the Free Market and Why Liberals Should Too (2008)
      Unbearable Cost: Bush, Greenspan, and the Economics of Empire (2006);
      Inequality and Industrial Change: A Global View (with M. Berner) (2001);
      Created Unequal: The Crisis in American Pay (1998);
      Macroeconomics (with W. Darity Jr.) (1992); and
      Balancing Acts: Technology, Finance and the American Future (1989).

     Dr. Galbraith studied economics as a Marshall Scholar at King's College, Cambridge, and holds degrees from Harvard University (BA) and
     Yale University (MA, M.Phil, PhD). In 2010, he was elected to the Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei. In 2014 he was co-winner with 
     Angus Deaton of the Leontief Prize for Advancing the Frontiers of Economics.